Teaching & Learning


Key Stage 4 Options

Students start their GCSEs in Year 10, meaning that they make option decisions mid-way through Year 9. During Years 10 and 11 they will engage with the following subjects:


Compulsory Non-Exam Subjects

These are modules of work that we believe benefit all students. They contain statutory elements at Key Stage Four.

  • PE
  • Drop down days that cover aspects of RE, PSHE and Careers


Compulsory Exam Subjects

  • GCSE English Literature
  • GCSE English Language
  • GCSE Mathematics
  • GCSE Science Trilogy
  • GCSE Geography OR History



Students then take a choice from a range of additional subjects. All students must take one option from the ‘Enrichment Block’, which includes Art, Dance, Drama, Music, Photography and Religious Education. Beyond this, the options process is a free choice, subject to availability and fit based on the way option blocks are created. However, we encourage students to also take a Language, meaning that they would have the full range of qualifications that make the EBacc. Options may vary from year to year, but can include:

  • Art and Design
  • Art: Textiles
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Food Technology
  • French
  • German
  • Geography
  • History
  • IMedia
  • Music
  • Photography
  • Religious Education
  • Sports Technology
  • Triple Science

Further information is available in our choices booklet.